Society of Architectural Historians to Present Architecture Awards in Chicago

The Society of Architectural Historians will present the SAH Awards for Architectural Excellence at its 8th Annual Awards Gala.

Online PR News – 13-September-2017 – Chicago,Illinois – (CHICAGO) September 5, 2017 — The Society of Architectural Historians will present the SAH Awards for Architectural Excellence at its 8th Annual Awards Gala on November 17, at The Racquet Club of Chicago. SAH will honor retired Lt. Col. Jennifer N. Pritzker, founder and president of the TAWANI Foundation; architect Ralph Johnson, FAIA, Global Design Director at Perkins + Will; and architects Sharon Johnston, FAIA, and Mark Lee, founders and principals of architecture firm Johnston Marklee. TAWANI Foundation is also the presenting sponsor of the annual awards gala.

Co-chairing this year’s SAH Awards Gala are Aric Lasher, FAIA, director of design, HBRA Architects and Julie Michiels, AIA, associate principal and senior project designer, Perkins + Will. A cocktail reception and silent auction will precede the awards ceremony. Prior to the ceremony, attendees may take a self-guided tour of The Racquet Club of Chicago, a private club housed in a classical revival building designed by Andrew Rebori (1923). Tickets for the gala are $175 and are available online at

About the Awards

The SAH Awards for Architectural Excellence began in 2010 and represent a unique coming together of architectural practice and academic study. The SAH Awards Gala is the Society’s largest annual fundraising event with proceeds supporting SAH’s educational programs and publications and the continued restoration of its landmark headquarters in Chicago, Charnley-Persky House (1891–1892), designed by Adler & Sullivan with then-draftsman Frank Lloyd Wright.

About the Honorees

Award for Excellence in Architectural Stewardship

Retired Lt. Col. Jennifer N. Pritzker is the president and CEO of TAWANI Enterprises, Inc.; president and founder of TAWANI Foundation and the Pritzker Military Foundation; and the founder and chairwoman of the Pritzker Military Museum and Library. Retired Lt. Col. Pritzker is a celebrated philanthropist with a passion for preserving and protecting architectural and cultural heritage. The TAWANI Foundation has supported community-based restoration projects, including several in the Rogers Park area, such as the Lang House (1919), which now functions as a bed and breakfast, the Morse Theater (1912), originally a vaudeville and movie house that now operates as the performance venue Mayne Stage, and the Emil Bach House (1921) designed by Frank Lloyd Wright, which functions as a vacation rental and event space. The TAWANI Foundation recently made a $1 million gift and $1 million challenge grant to support the $25 million comprehensive restoration of Frank Lloyd Wright’s Unity Temple (1906–1908) in Oak Park, Illinois. Investment activities include real estate, development, and property management and include ownership of the Monroe Building (1912), designed by Martin Roche of Holabird and Roche and currently housing the Pritzker Military Museum and Library, and two 19th-century Tudor style mansions in Evanston, Illinois—Stone Porch by the Lake and Stone Terrace— that Pritzker meticulously rehabilitated and restored into luxury bed and breakfasts. Pritzker also purchased a Victorian home, which was restored and developed into the Lincoln Way Inn, a modern, yet rustically elegant bed and breakfast in the heart of the Midwest. Among the awards Pritzker has received for her preservation work include being named a 2016 Legendary Landmark by Landmarks Illinois and the 2016 Margery B. Perkins Award by the City of Evanston for rehabilitation and restoration of the Stone Terrace Bed and Breakfast, an honor she shared with Paul Janicki Architects, Berglund Construction, and others who worked on the project.

Award for Excellence in Design, Planning and Sustainability

Ralph Johnson began his career at Stanley Tigerman’s office and then joined Perkins+Will in 1976, where he currently serves as its Global Design Director, and is a member of its board of directors. His projects have been honored with more than 150 design awards, including eight national Honor Awards, more than 50 regional Honor Awards from the American Institute of Architects and a Progressive Architecture Design Award.

Award for Excellence in Public Engagement with the Built Environment

Sharon Johnston and Mark Lee are the founding partners of the architecture firm Johnston Marklee. Johnston Marklee has been recognized nationally and internationally with over 30 major awards and numerous publications.

Event Details

SAH 8th Annual Awards Gala

Friday, November 17, 2017, 6–9 p.m.

The Racquet Club of Chicago, 1365 N Dearborn St

Tickets $175 (available online at

Event Sponsors (as of September 5, 2017)

TAWANI Foundation (Presenting Sponsor)

Perkins + Will

HBRA Architects

Sylvester Construction Services

University of Notre Dame School of Architecture

AIA Chicago


Press Contact: Helena Dean,, 312.543.7243