North Florida Land Trust Executive Director appointed to the Environmental Regulation Commission

Governor Rick Scott appointed Jim McCarthy to the seven-member board

Online PR News – 22-December-2016 – Jacksonville, FL – Jim McCarthy, Executive Director of North Florida Trust, has been appointed by Governor Rick Scott to serve on the Environmental Regulation Commission. Scott announced McCarthy’s appointment in a press release on Friday, Dec. 16. The Environmental Regulation Commission is a seven-member board responsible for setting standards and rules that protect Floridians and the environment.rnrn“I am honored that the Governor chose me to serve in this position and I look forward to doing my part to look after Florida’s natural environments,” said McCarthy. “I will work closely with my fellow board members to examine the risks and benefits of all issues that come before this commission.”rnrnMcCarthy’s term started Dec. 16, 2016 and will end July 1, 2019. His appointment is still subject to confirmation by the Florida Senate. rnrnThe seven-member Environmental Regulation Commission is made up of individuals who represent agriculture, the development industry, local government, the environmental community, citizens and members of the scientific and technical community.rnrnAbout North Florida Land TrustrnNorth Florida Land Trust is a non-profit organization who serves as a champion of environmental protection primarily in Baker, Clay, Duval, Flagler, Nassau, Putnam, and St. Johns counties. NFLT was founded in 1999 and has protected thousands of acres of environmentally significant land including land at Big Talbot Island, the River Branch Preserve, Pumpkin Hill State Park, Moccasin Slough, along the St. Mary’s River and other valued natural areas in Northeast Florida. NFLT is funded largely by private and corporate contributions and works closely with private landowners and other public agencies at all levels of government, not-for-profit partners, and foundations. For more information, visit