L.Ron Hubbard Presents Writers Of The Future: The First 25 Years, Now Available from Galaxy Press

Newly available from Galaxy Press, a special Silver Anniversary Edition coffee table book that reflects on the past twenty-five years of the most successful writing contest in the world, Writers Of The Future.

Online PR News – 11-November-2010 – – Los Angeles, CA – November 06, 2010 -- Writers of the Future, now in its 26th year, has recognized 300 winners to date and provided the first professional publication for these aspiring writers in the yearly anthology containing their stories. As a result of the contest's unparalleled success rate, Galaxy Press, the publisher for the Writers of the Future series, is publishing a special edition coffee table book recognizing its winners and the contest's celebrated judges - some of the world's most accomplished writers of science fiction and fantasy - scheduled for release later this fall.

Kevin J. Anderson, (Dune prequels, Saga of Seven Suns, and Writers of the Future Contest judge), as the senior editor for the project, has been able to make certain observations while reviewing the past 25 years. Regarding the publishing industry's enthusiastic acceptance of the writing contest, Kevin has noted that, "in the more recent years, the winners have not had time to get their full career momentum going, but that they've already started racking up pro sales." He went on to state, "Also, and this is astonishing, if you measure success by whether our winners / students leave the workshop and go on to publish professional novels or multiple pro short stories [most aspiring writers would call that success], Writers of the Future has about a 35% success rate. That's unheard of for a writing class or workshop."

An overview listing the winners, winning stories and photos for each of the first 25 years can be seen at http://www.WritersOfTheFuture.com/awards-and-events There are also videos with highlights of the recent years contests at http://www.youtube.com/writersofthefuture

The Writers of the Future Contest was created in 1983 by best-selling author L. Ron Hubbard as a means for aspiring writers to have their works seen and acknowledged.

The success of the original writing contest gave rise to the companion Illustrators of the Future Contest. As it has always been, there are no entry fees for the contests.

In addition to substantial cash awards, the contest winners and selected finalists are showcased in an annual anthology published by Galaxy Press, and are flown out to Los Angeles to participate in an expenses-paid week-long workshop led by professional published writers and illustrators.

For more information, go to http://www.WritersOfTheFuture.com or http://wotfblog.blogspot.com/

About Writers of the Future:
Writers of the Future (WOTF) is a science fiction and fantasy story contest originated by L. Ron Hubbard in 1983. Hubbard characterized the contest as a way of "giving back" to the field that had defined his professional writing life. The contest has no entry fee and is the highest-paying contest for amateur science-fiction and fantasy writers. Notable past winners of WOTF include Stephen Baxter, Karen Joy Fowler, James Alan Gardner, Nina Kiriki Hoffman, and Dean Wesley Smith. The winning stories are published in the yearly anthology L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of Future.

The contest may be entered quarterly, and is open to authors who have no, or few, professional publications. For complete information, please visit the contest web site at http://www.WritersOfTheFuture.com

Press Contact:
Tiffany Holmes
VP Marketing
Galaxy Press
7051 Hollywood Blvd.
Suite 200
Hollywood, CA 90028
(323) 466-7815