AZPM News Original Special Report Wins Regional Honors

"Divided by Law," has won a regional Edward R. Murrow Award for best radio news documentary.

Online PR News – 10-May-2016 – Tucson, AZ – "Divided By Law", an AZPM News original 30-minute special report produced in partnership with the Arizona Daily Star, was named winner of a regional Edward R. Murrow Award for best radio news documentary by the Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA). Journalists Fernanda Echavarri of AZPM and Perla Trevizo of The Daily Star collaborated on the story as part of a fellowship with the Institute for Justice and Journalism.

The awards recognize the best electronic journalism produced by radio, television and online news organizations around the world.

Regional winners automatically advance to the national Edward R. Murrow Awards competition, which will be judged this month. National awards, including those for network news organizations and for students, will be announced in June. A complete list of the 2016 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards winners can be found at

RTDNA is the world's largest professional organization devoted exclusively to electronic journalism. RTDNA represents local and network journalists in broadcasting, cable and digital media in more than 30 countries.

About AZPM
AZPM is an Emmy® award-winning, member-supported media organization serving all of Southern Arizona. AZPM has six public television channels and three radio stations, including PBS 6, PBS Kids and NPR 89.1. AZPM produces local content from its digital studios on the campus of the University of Arizona and is provided as a community service and educational resource. More information about AZPM, including program schedules and Video-on-Demand offerings, can be found online at Public Media® and AZPM® are registered trademarks of the Arizona Board of Regents.