AfrikaCem is Proud to Announce the Winners of the 2020 Africa Cement Industry Awards

The inaugural AfrikaCem Awards recognizes the companies, and individuals, within the cement industry in Africa who have shown excellence.

Online PR News – 08-October-2020 – Nairobi, Kenya – Commenting on the success of deserving winners, Faith Mukami, the Awards Coordinator, said:

“These awards showcase the innovation, dedication to client service and sheer hard work of some of the best cement companies operating in Africa. We are proud of all the winners and truly honored to be able to showcase their success.”

AfrikaCem awards are given solely on merit and are awarded to commend those most deserving for their market leadership, ingenuity and hard work, distinguishing them from their competitors and proving them worthy of recognition.

As the COVID-19 outbreak has slowed construction in many countries, the industry has seen lower demand for its products, leading to overcapacity. Cement companies are largely expected to survive the crisis, but they must strengthen their sustainability and competitiveness. Companies must also reduce their carbon emissions for their long-term viability; with the cement sector generating 7 to 8 percent of global greenhouse gas emissions, pressure is growing for the industry to achieve carbon neutrality.

Winners are cement companies that have demonstrated market share and brand leadership, investment,sound reputation in environmental stewardship and corporate social investment. This year we recognize Aliko Dangote of Dangote Group for his lifetime achievement in the cement sector and Anas Sefroui, founder and CEO of Ciments de d’Afrique. The Sustainability and Environmental Stewardship Award goes to Lafarge Ecosystem for their continued leadership in quarry rehabilitation. The Production Executive of the Year for East Africa goes to Sammy Mvoi Mlasheni of Savannah Cement and Segun Shoyoye of Lafarge Africa, for West Africa.

To learn more about our 2020 award winners, please visit

To order a hard cover copy of the awards commemorative book,visit our publications.