Texas Author’s Book Named Finalist in Foreword’s 2013 Book of the Year Contest

National magazine selects Texas author’s book in its search for the best indie books of 2013.

Online PR News – 20-May-2014 – Houston, TX – A book by Aimee Roundtree—Associate Professor at University of Houston-Downtown—was named a finalist in the Science category of 2013 Book of the Year Awards sponsored by Foreword Reviews magazine. In the next two months, a panel of over 100 librarians and booksellers will determine the winners of these prestigious awards.

The book—Computer Simulation, Rhetoric and the Scientific Imagination—reveals the rhetorical strategies underpinning simulated findings, including simulations behind high-profile cases of climate science debates in the news. The book explains how subjective and social influences do not diminish simulations’ power to represent science and yield actionable findings. Reviewers of the book praise it as a “powerful lens on argumentation” and a “timely contribution…[that] helps us understand simulations as rhetorical acts and products.”

Aimee Roundtree teaches health communication, medical writing, science writing, social media, hypermedia, web publishing, usability and accessibility, visual design, and technical communication. She is a qualitative researcher and medical writer. Her research investigates health, medicine, science, technology, media, visual culture, and organizations. She has presented at South-by-Southwest, the American Academy on Communication in Healthcare, and the Society for Technical Communication.

Foreword Reviews is the only review magazine solely dedicated to discovering new indie books. Each year, Foreword shines a light on a small group of indie authors and publishers whose ground-breaking work stands out from the crowd. A celebration of the winners will take place during the American Library Association Annual Conference in Las Vegas on Friday, June 27 at 6 p.m. with awards in over 60 categories, cash prizes for the best in fiction and nonfiction, and widespread recognition.

Visit the Foreword website for a complete list of the 2013 Book of the Year Award Finalists.