Third Time Lucky

Scott Pruett and Memo Rojas’ victory at the Grand-Am Rolex Sports Car event held in Watkins Glen marked their third triumph at the competition Written By John Lavitt

Online PR News – 09-June-2010 – – Scott Pruett and Memo Rojas renewed their winning streak at the championship this Saturday, after winning the Grand-AM Rolex Sports Car event at the Watkins Glen Classic. This victory was especially sweet, coming as it was after their first-lap crash at Lime Rock.

Until the accident at Lime Rock, the No. 01 TELEMEX BMW Riley team had recorded three consecutive victories in the championship. Scott Pruett led in the final 30 laps of the 191 lap race at Watkins Glen International, before flying past Max Angelelli to the checkered flag and defeating him by 1.623 seconds.

Scott Pruett, who scored his 27th career victory, said that he loved racing at the Watkins Glen event, where he had won four times before. Victory never felt this sweet for the champion driver, coming as it was after negotiating some very tough conditions that included a rain stricken start and a slew of caution starts. Ecstatic after the victory, the driver said that he was honored to be a part of history at the Watkins Glen event.

The victory put the team of Memo Rojas and Scott Pruett at the top of the championship, with a lead of 18 points over their nearest competition, Ryan Dalziel, who finished seventh in the No. 8 Corsa Car Care BMW Riley. The GANASSI team faced stiff competition from the No. 99 GAINSCO Chevrolet Riley team driven by Jon Fogarty, Alex Gurney and Jimmie Johnson. Together the two teams dominated the race, leading 179 laps of the total 190 laps, before Gurney spun on Turn 7, resulting in a sixth placed finish.

Later, Fogarty, who drove the initial 3 hours of the race, commented that the car was the best GAINSCO Auto Insurance Car ever. Fogarty was followed by NASCAR champion, Jimmie Johnson, who trailed Rojas during his one hour stint behind the wheel.

The Grand-AM Rolex Sports Car race at Watkins Glen was slowed down by a slew of accidents, the most serious of which occurred at the very end of the race, when the No. 6 CAP & Associate Ford Riley of Michael Valiante erupted in flames on the race course. However, no one was hurt as Valiante expertly navigated the car to the entrance of the pit lane, before jumping to safety, seconds before the car burst into flames.

In the GT class, the team of Andy Lally, Spencer Pumpelly and Bob Doyle, scripted an unlikely win when they overtook all to win in the 29 field race.

The team of Scott Pruett and Memo Rojas are upbeat about their chances at the next race beginning June 19th at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course in Lexington, Ohio.

About Melrose Jewelers
Melrose Jewelers is the nation’s leading online retailer of Rolex wrist watches including mens watches and ladies luxury watches and its associates have, collectively, over 220 years of experience in importing, restoring, and retailing Rolex and other luxury watches. Melrose Jewelers was founded with one simple premise: Buying a Rolex or other luxury watch shouldn’t be mysterious or complicated. Melrose Jewelers also employs a staff of top university-educated Trained Experts that provide customer service that extends from your initial sales call until years after you’ve received your purchase. Melrose Jewelers is not an authorized agent or affiliated with Rolex USA, Rolex S.A., Rolex International, Breitling, or Patek Philippe luxury watches. Rolex Day Date, Rolex President, Rolex GMT Master, Rolex Daytona, Rolex Oyster Perpetual Datejust, Rolex PearlMaster, Rolex Masterpiece, Rolex Super President, Rolex Submariner, Rolex Yacht-Master, Rolex Explorer and Rolex Sea Dweller are all trademarks of Rolex S.A.

Melrose Jewelers also hosts the Melrose Jewelers (MJ) Rolex Watch Blog. The MJ Rolex Watch Blog is the world’s largest independent forum website about Rolex events and Rolex and other luxury watches in pop culture. With over 300 user-posted articles and new articles and commentary updated daily, the Melrose Jewelers Rolex watch blog contains articles about Rolex watches owned by Danica Patrick, Matthew McConaughey, Eva Longoria Parker, Tobey Maguire, Lindsey Lohan, Eddie Murphy, Tom Selleck, Jennifer Garner, Donald Trump, Eva Longoria, Skepta, Jennifer Lopez, Lance Armstrong, John Mayer, Cameron Diaz, Justin Timberlake, Brad Pitt, Drew Barrymore, DJ Am, Tim Tebow, Colt McCoy, Jay-Z, Zara Phillips, Barack Obama, O.J. Simpson, Madonna, Ana Ivanovic, Jennifer Aniston, Tokio Hotel, Paris Hilton, Orlando Bloom, Tupac Shakur, Lily Allen, & Wiley. Blog postings on the MJ Rolex Watch Blog are submitted by independent Rolex enthusiasts and not by Melrose Jewelers.

visit our website