Purchasing Florida minimum auto insurance requirements may not provide adequate coverage.
Online PR News – 18-May-2010 – – The cost of car insurance in the Sunshine State is among the highest in the nation which results in many motorists purchasing the minimum limits required by the state; unfortunately, the state’s requirements can be relatively low compared to costs arising from traffic accidents and may not provide the necessary level of protection. OnlineAutoInsurance.com advises Florida’s motorists to compare the cost of more coverage to help protect against future financial burdens.
The state does not require motorists to obtain coverage for damage sustained by their vehicles or protection from uninsured motorists which can result in uncovered medical bills and vehicle repair costs for policyholders who have not purchased these options. According to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles motorists are only required to carry $10,000 in Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and $10,000 for Property Damage Liability (PDL).
Although consumers do not like the idea of paying more in premiums to carriers, protecting against certain risks can be beneficial. For example, there are individuals who choose to operate vehicles uninsured which can leave a motorist who is driving legally vulnerable to an uncovered loss; uninsured motorist coverage can cover this as well as losses from being a victim of a hit and run. Motorists may want to compare Florida auto insurance rates based on more extensive policies to determine if more protection is affordable before purchasing a policy.
Consumers can visit http://www.onlineautoinsurance.com/florida/florida-auto-insurance-quote-comparison.htm to get tips on comparing the various types of coverage and obtain quotes from multiple insurers. Comparisons may lead to locating more extensive policies at a reasonable rate or help find cheaper premiums for those who feel they only need the minimum required limits.