Remit2India The Light of India Awards 2012 Nominees Unveiled at a Curtain Raiser in New York City

Nominees Include Dinesh Keskar, businessmen Gurbaksh Chahal, Author Jhumpa Lahiri, Television Personality Padma Lakshmi & CNN Contributor and Surgeon Dr. Sanjay Gupta.

Online PR News – 17-May-2012 – Chennai/ Tamil nadu – Remit2India announced today the final list of nominees for the annual Light of India Awards, brought in association with The Amrapali Group, at a curtain raiser event held at The Taj Pierre Hotel in New York. In its second year now, The Light of India Awards honors Indians abroad who have made significant contributions in their respective fields across the world.
The event featured Reshma Saujani, Deputy Advocate for Special Initiatives at the New York City Office, in a Q&A discussion on the role of Indian Americans in public policy and politics, with Sital Patel, an accomplished British Indian and senior producer at FOX News, moderating the talk.
One of the eminent nominees is Padma Lakshmi. Originally from Chennai in Tamil Nadu, Padma is a Model, Actress, Host & Cook Book Author. She is widely recognized as host of 'Top Chef'. In 2006, Padma was nominated for a prime-time Emmy Award as 'Outstanding Host on a Reality-Competition'. Padma has penned two cookbooks: 'Easy Exotic' (winner of the International Versailles Prize for Best First Cookbook) and 'Tangy, Tart, Hot & Sweet'. On screen Padma has been on 30 Rock, The Ten Commandments and Lost. Padma also appeared in BBC America's Sharpe's Challenge. On the big screen, she joined Aishwarya Rai and Dylan McDermott in Paul Mayeda Berges' film Mistress of Spices.
Avijit Nanda, President TimesofMoney was also present at the event and said, “Remit2India The Light of India Awards aims to raise awareness about the achievements of Indians abroad. We are very excited about this year’s list of nominees, which includes stalwarts from various fields. We hope that the awards help raise the profile of successful Indians around the world.”
Speaking on the occasion Dr. Anil Kumar Sharma, Chairman Amrapali Group said ‘It’s an honor to be associated with this prestigious property once again this year. We are happy to be part of these awards which recognize eminent Indians across the globe who have helped shape the image of India abroad"

In addition, Suhel Seth, a marketing consultant and well-known social commentator, as well as a jury member for the 2012 Light of India Awards, was present at the curtain raiser. Seth said, “It’s an honor to be on the jury that will choose the Light of India award winners. This year’s nominees include several prominent Indian Americans who have remarkably impacted and shaped their respective fields in the U.S. and globally. The jury faces a difficult task in selecting the winners.”
The Light of India Awards recognizes excellence and exemplary achievements of Indians abroad in the fields of Business, Education, Science & Technology, Arts & Entertainment and Literature & Journalism. There will be two sets of awards - Jury awards and People’s Choice awards. The organizing team shortlisted 4-6 nominees per category on the basis of set criterions which involved Achievements in Global Perspective, Contribution to the Industry of work and Initiatives in the Homeland. The Jury will deliberate to select the recipients in each category. These winners will be presented 'The Jury Award'. The list of nominees will also be posted on the website - for online public voting. Winners of the people’s choice category will be based on the maximum number of votes received by the individual nominee. The entire process of selection of recipient will be validated by KPMG in India.
The winners will be announced on June 1, 2012 at a gala event, to be held at The Pierre; A Taj Hotel, in New York city.
Full list of nominees:
Excellence in Education
1. Beheruz Sethna
2. Nitin Nohria
3. Pradeep K. Khosla
4. Renu Khator
5. Satish K. Tripathi
6. Sunil Kumar Excellence in Corporate Leadership
1. Ajay Waghray
2. Ajit Jain
3. Anshuman Jain
4. Dinesh Keskar
5. Harish Manwani
6. Padmasree Warrior
Excellence in Academics
1. Krishna G. Palepu
2. Mohanbir Sawhney
3. Nirmalya Kumar
4. Raghuram Rajan
5. Soumitra Dutta Excellence in Literature & Journalism
1. Amitav Ghosh
2. Hari Kunzru
3. Indu Sundaresan
4. Jhumpa Lahiri
5. Kavita Daswani
6. Siddhartha Mukherjee
Excellence in Arts & Entertainment
1. Lisa Ray
2. M. Night Shyamalan
3. Meera Syal
4. Padma Lakshmi
5. Sanjeev Bhaskar
6. Sunil Nayar Excellence in Science & Technology
1. Ajay V. Bhatt
2. Dr. Atul Gawande
3. Pradeep K. Khosla
4. Sabeer Bhatia
5. Sanjay Gupta
6. Siddhartha Mukherjee
Excellence in Business Leadership
1. Bharat Desai
2. Ajit H. Someshwar
3. Aneel Bhusri
4. Gurbaksh Chahal
5. Sanjay Mehrotra
6. Vivek Ranadive

Initiative of:
Presenting Sponsor: The Amrapali Group
Associate Sponsor: Dish TV International
International Airline Sponsor: Etihad Airways
Exclusive Television Sponsor: SONY Entertainment Television Asia
Digital Partner:
Print Partners: Indian Express North American Edition & Divya Bhaskar North American Edition
Radio Partners: EBC | Radio Zindagi | Hungama Radio | TORI Online Radio
Event Partner: EVOLVE
Validating Partner: KPMG in India

For more information on the Light of India Awards, visit