June 5 Is Free Music Friday

Customers can download free tracks to mark the launch of unlocked music from Vodafone UK

Online PR News – 09-June-2009 – – June 2009 - Customers can download free tracks to mark the launch of unlocked music from Vodafone UK

• Download some of the biggest music releases free on June 5
• Music from Vodafone UK is no longer restricted to one device - Vodafone UK customers can now play music on their mobile, MP3 player, iPod or PC
• Customers can use their PC to make browsing, buying and listening to music even easier via Vodafone’s Vodafone Music Manager

Eight free tracks from major international artists will be available tomorrow for free to Vodafone customers for a “Free Music Friday”.

Marking the introduction of unlocked (Digital Rights Management free) music on Vodafone Music Store, customers can now enjoy their music on PCs, MP3 players and iPods as well as mobiles.

Customers can listen to their favourite music, wherever they want and in the style that suits them best.

Vodafone UK is initially offering 350,000 unlocked tracks from EMI, Sony Music and Universal Music, as well as independent labels, featuring many of the world’s leading artists.

By the end of the summer, Vodafone UK customers will be able to enjoy more than one million unlocked tracks. From punk to pop, rock to rap the tracks will be made available over the next two months from 49p per track and £7.99 per album.

Those customers who have already bought tracks or albums from EMI, Sony Music or Universal Music from Vodafone will be able to upgrade them to unlocked tracks for free simply by downloading them again from Vodafone live!.

In addition, customers who want to easily manage how they browse, buy and listen to their music can now download the ‘Vodafone Music Manager’ from today at vodafone.co.uk/musicstore. Customers can use Vodafone Music Manager by subscribing to a £7.50 pack on their mobile for unlimited downloads to their PC and mobile. For more information and a video about DRM free music visit youtube.com/watch?v=EsM74-iIMXU

Vodafone customers can download the following tracks for free - Ciara featuring Justin Timberlake - Love Sex Magic; Daniel Merriweather – Change ; Lady GaGa – Poker Face ; Lily Allen – Not Fair (Style Of Eye remix); Pixie Lott – Rolling Stone; Simple Minds – Rockets; Tinchy Stryder feat N-Dubz – Number 1; Clubbers Guide 2009 Mixtape

All the tracks can be found in the Vodafone Music Store at vodafonemusic.co.uk or by going to music on Vodafone live!. Customers can text 'music' to 97886 for a link that will take them straight to the Vodafone Music Store. To find out more about Vodafone’s free music Friday customers can go to vodafone.co.uk/music.

A wide range of 3G mobile phones support music services and more information on how to download music and compatible phones can be found in the music, news and entertainment section at help.vodafone.co.uk.

Celebrating Free Music Friday Pixie Lott will be performing tracks from her album in a Vodafone store on Friday June 5. Her debut single ‘Mama Do’ will be released on Sunday 7 June, with an exclusive acoustic version available on Vodafone live! on June 8.


Notes to editors:

The current top 10 downloads on Vodafone live!

1 Tinchy Stryder Number 1
2 Black Eyed Peas Boom Boom Pow
3 Eminem We Made You
4 Dizzee Rascal & Armand Van Helden Bonkers (Radio Edit)
5 Soulja Boy Tell`em Kiss Me Thru The Phone
6 Keri Hilson Knock You Down
7 Lady GaGa Poker Face
8 Daniel Merriweather Red
9 La Roux In For The Kill
10 Lily Allen Not Fair

For more info visit : http://www.vodafone.co.uk

visit our website