Golf Course Builder Bill Kubly to Receive ASGCA’s Donald Ross Award

Bill Kubly, golf course builder and chief executive officer of Landscapes Unlimited, has been selected by the American Society of Golf Course Architects as the 2012 Donald Ross Award recipient. The award will be presented April 29, 2012.

Online PR News – 22-January-2012 – – BROOKFIELD, Wis. –Bill Kubly, golf course builder and chief executive officer of Landscapes Unlimited, has been selected by the American Society of Golf Course Architects (ASGCA) as the 2012 Donald Ross Award recipient. The award will be presented April 29, 2012 during the 66th ASGCA Annual Meeting in Chattanooga, Tenn. The award is named for ASGCA’s first honorary president, and is presented to an individual who has made a positive contribution to golf and golf course architecture.

Kubly is a graduate of the Landscape Architecture program at the University of Wisconsin and began work as a golf course architect in 1971 for Dick Watson. Watson owned a golf construction company and Kubly learned the construction side of golf development on the job. After five years he went out on his own. Landscapes Unlimited, based in Lincoln, Neb., now employs 750 construction workers and another 450 who work at company-owned golf courses.

“To identify Bill as a golf course builder doesn’t begin to describe how involved he is in getting a course from plans to reality,” said President Rick Phelps, ASGCA. “His background as a landscape architect and golf course designer has given him the insight to develop an approach to construction that’s particularly smart and streamlined.

“Bill built a company that covers construction, irrigation, project development and recreational development, so he and his team understand all aspects of how best to develop golf facilities. He brings that big picture expertise to every project and his work style naturally leads to respect and partnership.”

Kubly served as president of the Golf Course Builders Association of America (GCBAA) from 1998 - 2000, and is a former Chairman of the Environmental Institute for Golf. He is current President of the GCBAA Foundation where he led growth of the Sticks for Kids Program from 11 programs to 510, and increased the number of industry-related scholarships from five to 47.

The Donald Ross Award was established by the ASGCA Board of Governors in 1976. Its first recipient was one of ASGCA’s Founding Fathers, Robert Trent Jones.

For more information on ASGCA and a complete listing of past Donald Ross Award recipients, visit, or contact ASGCA at (262) 786-5960 or e-mail

Past Donald Ross Award Recipients
2011 James Dodson, golf writer/editor
2010 Tim Finchem, PGA Tour Commissioner
2009 Ron Dodson, sustainable golf advocate
2008 George Peper, golf writer
2007 Dr. Michael Hurdzan, golf course architect
2006 Jim Awtrey, chief executive officer, PGA of America
2005 John Singleton, irrigation pioneer
2004 Thomas Cousins, philanthropist, urban golf developer
2003 Bill Campbell, president, USGA, captain, Royal & Ancient Golf Club
2002 Byron Nelson, professional golfer
2001 Jack Nicklaus, professional golfer, golf course architect
2000 Jaime Ortiz-Patino, owner and president, Valderrama Golf Club
1999 Arnold Palmer, professional golfer
1998 Judy Bell, president, USGA
1997 Gene Sarazen, professional golfer
1996 Ron Whitten, golf writer
1995 Pete Dye, golf course architect
1994 James R. Watson, agronomist
1993 Brent Wadsworth, golf course builder
1992 Paul Fullmer, ASGCA executive secretary
1991 Michael Bonallack, secretary, Royal & Ancient (St. Andrew’s)
1990 John Zoller, former executive director, Northern California Golf Association
1989 Dick Taylor, editor, “Golf World” magazine
1988 Frank Hannigan, executive director, USGA
1987 Charles Price, “Golf World” magazine
1986 Deane Beman, commissioner, PGA Tour
1985 Peter Dobereiner, “London Observer” columnist, author
1984 Dinah Shore, sponsor of women’s golf tournaments
1983 Al Radko, former director, USGA Green Section
1982 Geoffrey Cornish, golf course architect, historian
1981 James Rhodes, governor of Ohio
1980 Gerald Micklem, former captain, Royal & Ancient
1979 Joe Dey, former executive director, USGA
1978 Herb and Joe Graffis, founders, National Golf Foundation
1977 Herbert Warren, “Wind Golf Digest” columnist, author
1976 Robert Trent Jones, ASGCA founding member

ASGCA Background

Founded in 1946 by 14 leading architects, the American Society of Golf Course Architects is a non-profit organization comprised of experienced golf course designers located throughout the United States and Canada. Members have completed a rigorous two-year long application process that includes the peer review of four representative golf courses. ASGCA members are experienced golf course architects, able to counsel in all aspects of golf course design and remodeling and comprise many of the great talents throughout the golf industry.

For more information about ASGCA, including a current list of members, log on to the ASGCA website at or call (262) 786-5960.

Editor’s note: A photo of Bill Kubly is available upon request.