Paper Umbrella Releases New CD, “Stupid Head”

Album from DC-area favorites "should be heard by pop aficionados everywhere”

Online PR News – 15-May-2011 – – (BETHESDA, MD May 5, 2011) Paper Umbrella announced today the release of its new CD, entitled “Stupid Head.” The 12-song album, written and produced by the well-known, long-established DC-area pop-rock band, is the group’s third release.

Paper Umbrella consists of Tom Lofgren, lead vocals and guitar; Dave Egelhofer, vocals and guitar; Ronnie Newmyer, bass; and Chuck Sullivan, drums and percussion. Lofgren’s earlier fame came as a member of the critically acclaimed band, Grin, led by his brother, Nils Lofgren, the legendary guitarist and member of Bruce Springsteen’s E Street Band. Previously, Sullivan, Newmyer and Tom Lofgren joined forces in the Washington Area Music Association award-winning band, The Newkeys.

Wrote one early reviewer of Paper Umbrella’s “Stupid Head,” “The craftsmanship and detail in the songs, arrangements and production knocked me out from the very first listen.”

The band describes itself as influenced by the Beatles, Crowded House, and Squeeze. “Our music layers swirling guitars and psychedelic harmonies, blended with hypnotic grooves, with thoughtful observations on the world we live in,” said Sullivan

Included among the album’s songs are “Only Human”“Black and White World,” “Paradise,” “Big Shot,” “The Other Side,” “First Born,” “No Words” and the title track.

Said another reviewer, “’Stupid Head’ is too good to keep a local phenomenon -- it really should be heard by pop aficionados everywhere.”

The CD may be downloaded from ITunes or For more information, visit Paper Umbrella on Facebook and MySpace.