GO Federal Credit Union Members Approve Merger

GO Federal Credit Union members have agreed to merge with America’s Credit Union.

Online PR News – 24-September-2020 – DALLAS, TX – With more than 1,000 ballots cast, the members of GO Federal Credit Union have agreed to merge with America’s Credit Union. The vote was a resounding affirmation from the Dallas County members with 83% saying, “Yes.” America’s Credit Union currently serves the Garland, Mesquite, and Springfield, MO area. When the merger becomes official, America’s will have 5 branches located in Garland, Mesquite, Dallas, Lancaster, and Springfield, MO.

Two additional steps are required to make the merger official. Final authorization from the National Credit Union Administration is expected to be completed by October 1, 2020. The operating systems of both credit unions will then be combined by May 1, 2021.

America’s CEO/President, Rebecca McCoy, and GO’s CEO/President, Bert Beal, issued a joint statement, explaining, “We are very excited by the support from the GOFCU members. We believe that our credit unions share similar cultures and commitment to serving our members and communities. Together we will be stronger, allowing us to provide our members with the latest in technology, provide them with financial guidance to help them grow progressively, and become more financially secure. America’s and our members have a fantastic future ahead.”

After final approval from the NCUA, Bert Beal will be assuming the role of CEO/President.

America’s Credit Union will employ more than 100 employees, with over $350 million in assets, and over 37,000 members who live, work and/or worship in Dallas, Collin, or Rockwall counties. The headquarters will be located in Garland, TX.

About America’s Credit Union
ACU was first formed in 1934 as Kraft Credit Union at the Kraft Plant in Denison, Texas, to provide financial services at a lower cost for the salaried Kraft Food employees and their families. The Kraft plant relocated to Garland. ACU further expanded into U.S. FoodService (formerly Alliant FoodService), Philip Morris and any of its subsidiaries, Valspar Inc., Raytheon, Sherwin Williams, employees of the Texas Post Offices: Rowlett, Wylie, Rockwall, Royse City, Garland or Terrell, and other businesses in addition to residing in Dallas, Collin, or Rockwall County.

About GO Federal Credit Union
GO Federal Credit Union started in 1937 as Dallas Bell Telephone Federal Credit Union. The new credit union started with 8 charter members from Southwestern Bell Telephone Company. Over the years, the field of membership expanded, adding over 200 new companies (known as Select Employee Groups). In 1961, the credit union changed its name to Dallas Telco Federal Credit Union to reflect its growing membership. Dallas Telco Federal Credit Union was granted a community charter in 2004 to serve all of Dallas County and help grow the credit union with a wider field of membership. In 2012, Dallas Telco became GO Federal Credit Union to represent the new and wider field of membership.